Penn Conquer Spinning Reels Reviews


- Penn Conquer For Sale

Details:Another new reel for 2010 is the Penn Conquer. This reel is truly easy to maintain with it's one-step gearbox access. After all maintenance is important to the life of your reels and being able to do it easily is a must. This reel operates very well under heavy loads and comes in models from 2000 to 7000. The reel handles braid very well and and you don't need backing due to the "superline spool" that is a rubber gasket that keeps your line from spinning. About time a reel manufacturer came out with this feature. Although some may argue the backing is nice so that you know when you are about to run out of line on a big fish.

Model No. Bearings Gear Ratios Capacity Weight
CQR2000 10+1 5:1:1 Braid: 250/8 - 210/10 - 180/15 9.9oz

User reviews for Conquer


Number of Reviews: 9
Average Rating: 3.22
Add Your Own Review
Rating: conquer 4000
Reviewed on April 10, 2014 by glenn from palm beach

i bought this reel because i catch big fish on lite tackle. i started noticing a grinding after a month. opened it up and the friction cover was broken. the drag on this reel is the best i just dont get why its grinding, if you ask me i'm dissapointed and this realy hurts my opinion of penn

Rating: awesome reels
Reviewed on January 2, 2013 by tony from guam

awesome reel. my only suggestion is when you buy a penn reel it would be a good idea to open it up and make sure all the screws are tight! i bought a brand new cqr 5000 and the crosswind gear screw was loose, the crosswind block screw was loose as was both bearing retainers. (loose) the pinion bearing retainer was also loose. all three of them. these are critical parts to be left loose esp. the crosswind block screw, as anyone knows what will happen if this screw backs out during operation. oh, and also the main screw that houses the drag washers also came off when i loosened the drag knob. it completely unscrewed and the washers all fell out, also the drag clicker was not assembled properly. penn needs to look at their assembly rather than the quality of their parts. reel working fine no gears grinding since i disassembled and tightened ALL the screws.

Rating: Very good reel - Penn 4000
Reviewed on August 29, 2012 by vince from Miami

I have had this reel for over 3 years and was pretty pleased with it. Caught many fish too ranging from 15-20 dolphin, 5 lb-ish mangrove snapper to mid-teens kingfish. It cast great, the line capacity is very good. This is not by any means a very strong reel but more of a light-mid range strength. I would not go after large tarpon,big snook, or grouper fishing but I use it as a good pitch and live line rod. Not bad and easy access to clean/oil.

Rating: Dissapointed
Reviewed on February 20, 2012 by Mudflatsdan from Jax, fl

35 year died-in-the-wool Penn guy. Loved the way my new 2000 performed until the 5th month when the bail mechanism failed. Fortunately my local dealer is great with customer relations and handed me a new one off the shelf. Big smile. Caught lots of redfish- until the 3rd month. Bail mechanism failed. Fortunately my local dealer is EXCELLENT with customer relations. Handed me a new Daiwa Ballistic off the shelf.

Rating: Junk
Reviewed on February 21, 2011 by sunburnt from Naples, FL.

First the rubber piece inside that keeps the bail from slamming closed while casting broke. Then I started feeling the gears while reeling I started reading and I guess this is a common problem so I packed it with grease and it was smooth for 2 more fishing trips then you could feel the gears again. this is and over priced piece of junk from china. need I say more.

Rating: Penn 4000 & 5000
Reviewed on July 24, 2010 by Don Poenisch from Ingleside, Tx

The reel drag system is smooth and consistent. I am a wade fisherman and need to tire out the fish before bringing them to the net. I have caught Redfish after red fish and the drag system is so consistent, smooth and reliable. I have been using the both reels this summer a lot and I have on order the 2000. I have dunked the reels in the water and have not had a problem with water in the reel. I returned a Slammer Liveliner because it had problems 2 times before the warranty had expired. It needs improvement. But, the Conquuer? Awesome.

Rating: Penn Conquer 4000 is awesome
Reviewed on May 5, 2010 by Tyler Tran from Cal

I bought the 4000 last week so I can alternate between my Stella 5000 SW for light inshore and did I ever! Probably the decision I've made up to this point of my life, I took it out with a Lamiglas rod and kayak fishing with it and limit the rockfish with an hour with fish ranging from 2lbs-7lbs in deep patches of kelp, not a problem. While coming in i decide to throw some top water lures since I limit so quickly I ended up with 4 shakers and 1 keeper, 24lb stripe bass. The reel does what Penn said it would and for kayak fishing and inshore fishing, this is the reel!

Rating: Best 4000 reel on market
Reviewed on January 24, 2010 by Tdogg from Tampa

This reel caught my eye in Sportfishing magazine... I bought it and loaded it up with braid and started fish for big snook and reds... The reel does very well and seems to be best with braid..

Rating: Love the New Backing Feature
Reviewed on January 24, 2010 by Kobe from Israel

I use braid on all my reels and hate having to use backing. I actually put a rubber gromet on my reels to achieve the same effect that penn has done here. This way I can load it up to the bottom of the reel and don't have to worry about another knot on my reel. I picked up the 4000 model for $149US on ebay. Loaded it with 12lb Powerpro. Although I could of gone heavier as the 4000 model holds 160 yards of 16 which is great for a little reel. Let's see a fish run 2 football fields from me and get away with it! :)

Add your own review
Rating:
Review Title:
Your Name:
Your Location:
Your Review: