Shimano Baitrunner Spinning Reels Reviews


- Shimano home page
- Shimano Baitrunner For Sale

Details:Our BaitRunner Lever -- providing a secondary drag system -- allows an angler to feed out line in tension-controlled freespool with the bail closed. This enables the angler to feed line out, lets the fish take the bait and run -- while still maintaining line control by having the bail closed. To engage the primary drag and set the hook, simply turn the reel handle, or flip to the 'BaitRunner Off' position, and the fight is on. For dropping bait back to fish from your boat, working jetties for stripers, and even certain freshwater situations, our BaitRunner feature gives you an ultimate fish-catching advantage


User reviews for Baitrunner


Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 3.92
Add Your Own Review
Rating: BTR shimano 3500B 4500B 6500B
Reviewed on April 8, 2014 by Flatheadfletch from Alabama

Best freaking tools I have ever owned. Had pen 750ss 650ss. Sold all of them and went to these. BEST THING I EVER DID.

Rating: Not Durable
Reviewed on October 18, 2013 by Fraid Knot from Riverside,CA

Baitrunner 3500 is the only spin reel I have ever had fall apart on a fish.(only fish mono) May have just got a bad one because my buddy has caught many albacore with his 6500, but I use Penn Slammers now.

Rating: 15 years, thousdands of fish later - finally needs maint
Reviewed on March 18, 2011 by Rick from Florida

just rinse, lighhtly oil occasionally and always loosen your drag before putting away. I have worn out 40 reels before I found this gem. Baitrunner 3500! I fish salt water only and use this for casting and jerking spoons all day long, which is brutal on the gears. I've caught some beauties with this reel. It is magnificent

Rating: the very best for is price
Reviewed on January 29, 2010 by since 1995 from rhode island

For people that say they suck are crazy to say! Penn throw away ,dawia another one to do the same. There's is no reel on the market for 130 that would take beating like a baitrunner,casts great,a little heavy for surf rods but will hold up to 75 lbs sharks,60 lbs stripes will handle any fish in the east. So for those people that don't like it obviously you don't know what your are talking about. This is coming for a 20 old kid that's loves to fishing ever day. They are the best ever out there

Rating: Great offshore reel
Reviewed on January 24, 2010 by Ted Baln from Long Island

This is all I have on my boat. I do like the spheros models better, but these are cheaper and hold up very well.

Rating: Very good Reels
Reviewed on November 16, 2009 by Iain from Gibraltar

Have had mine for three years. Caught a 25Kg Eagle ray with them plus bass and breams no problem they are the best reels i have had.Very rowbustand dependable.

Rating: Hate The Baitrunner Feature
Reviewed on August 28, 2009 by Dumb from PA

This reel baitrunner feature is dumb....you can use a piece of copper wire and have absolutely no tension on the line and not have to worry about spinning your line or missing the fish. The daiwa or penn is a better reel for the buck. my .02

Rating: Best Offshore Reel
Reviewed on June 18, 2009 by Jason Goldman from Rhode Island

We have all baitrunners on my boat with star rods... the combo is very good. I have found the baitrunner feature to be just OK. I prefer a clip to allow drop back on the bait, but otherwise these reels have been maintenance free and a pleasure. I do recommend you hose them down well after use.

Rating: Use for specimen Carp
Reviewed on April 6, 2009 by Rod from South Africa

Used many a reel, from big pitts to other baitrunners and none of them can compare to the brute power of these baitrunners. Very low maintenance and I would say the best reel I have ever purchased

Rating: High Maintenance
Reviewed on October 26, 2008 by billy from miami

the new baitrunner reel sucks if you try to close the bail when a fish it hitting it will not close and it is high maintenance

Rating: Best reel for snapper fishing
Reviewed on January 20, 2007 by Dr DRIFT aka Chung from Melbourne, Australia

My whole snapper setup includes 8 x Shimano Bait runners 4500 series on Ugly Sticks....Best combo for snapper fishing here in Melbourne Australia...

Rating: Best Reel!
Reviewed on January 11, 2007 by Kuruptor from Rhode Island

Shimano 4500,6500. Best fishing reels to this day.

Rating: Love it!
Reviewed on December 1, 2006 by Fred Parker from NY

I have 6 of the reels on custom rods. Very dependable and smooth. I take good care of it and they have lasted me 3 years with no problems. I spool with 15-20lb and.

Add your own review
Rating:
Review Title:
Your Name:
Your Location:
Your Review: